KATA – The Female Genital Mutilation Fil

KATA – The Female Genital Mutilation Film
I have been following Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) in East Africa and closely followed the life of some young girls who have undergone Female Genital Mutilation or are waiting for their turn to face the old woman’s knife as its locally known. That’s why I called the film Kata, a Swahili word for cut. In April 2012, I traveled to eastern Uganda on familiarization trip to talk to girls and women who had been subjected to Female Genital Mutilation or were are risk of being forced to undergo Female Genital Mutilation. I was moved by their stories and their prayers for a brighter future where they could live without fear of being forced to undergo genital cutting. I strongly believe Female Genital Mutilation is a violation of a girl’s rights to health, well-being and self-determination. Every one I talked to believes time is NOW to end Female Genital Mutilation and demand that our governments take strong measures to end it. Can I stop Female Genital Mutilation alone? NO… I realized I can’t do this alone; I must work with communities, schools, health service centers, civil society organizations , local governments and people like You. Together we have a started a journey to end Female Genital Mutilation and inspire positive change through a film documentary that I will will film and produce. Please donate to my campaign to film and produce documentary to raise awareness on the dangers of FGM and stop it. Donate here http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/stop-female-genital-mutilation-kata-the-fgm-film

Leave a Reply

